Exhibitions : Upcoming Exhibitions

Photo by Daniel Mirer, danielmirer.com.

The Naked Museum

Date(s):  May through June 2013

A return of the muses to the museum. Poetry, music, drama, history, dance, and a later muse, performance art.

Celebrate the home of the muses, the site of inspiration, and the beauty of place that is the Sheldon Museum of Art.

To focus on Sheldon's Philip Johnson–designed building during the commemoration of its 50th anniversary, all artwork has been removed from the galleries and Great Hall.

Guidebooks created by students in the UNL College of Architecture will be available for self-paced tours of the museum's architectural details.


Related News
The Naked Museum
by Brian Reetz, L Magazine

Sheldon Museum gets 'naked'
Lincoln Journal Star

Sheldon becomes "The Naked Museum"
by L. Kent Wolgamott, Lincoln Journal Star

Fifty Has Seldom Looked So Good Bared
by Willard Spiegelman, The Wall Street Journal

Sheldon Museum strips naked to display its architectural bones
by Sarah Baker Hansen, Omaha World-Herald



Related Events
First Friday Opening of The Naked Museum
Friday, May 3 • 5–7 p.m.

Craft Circle
Sundays, May 5–26 and June 9–30 • 1:30–2:30 p.m.

A Very Deep Saxophone And A Very Long Guitar
Tuesday, May 7 • 7 p.m.

Young Musician Lunchtime Concert Series
Wednesdays, May 8–29 and June 5–26 • 12:15 p.m.

Craft Circle
Thursdays, May 9–30 and June 6–27 • 12–1 p.m.

Meditation led by Yoga Body and Balance
Thursday, May 9 • 6–7 p.m.

NET Radio's Friday Live Arts Magazine Live Broadcast
Friday, May 10 • 8:45–10 a.m.

A Conversation about Philip Johnson
Friday, May 10 • 5:30 p.m.

Troika Strata: One Play, Three Views
May 14, 21, and 28 • 6:30 p.m.

Outdoor Yoga led by Yoga Body and Balance
Thursday, May 16 • 6–7 p.m.

Museum Tour led by Bitzalel Friedemann
Friday, May 17 • 7–8 p.m.

Open Rehearsal of Temporal Sculpture
Saturday, May 18 • 2–4:30 p.m.

"The Figure" Class Observation
May 20–June 7 • 10 a.m.–12:30 p.m.

Kinection: Connecting Modern Art with Modern Technology
May 20–June 23 • various dates and times

Partners Yoga led by Yoga Body and Balance
Thursday, May 23 • 6–7 p.m.

Paul Barnes Piano Recital
Thursday, May 23 • 7:30 p.m.

Temporal Sculpture
May 24–25 • TBA

Museum Tour with Betsey Geffen
Saturday, May 25 • 2–3 p.m.

Descriptive Poetry Workshop
Tuesday, May 28 • 10 a.m.–1 p.m.

Sunset Yoga led by Yoga Body and Balance
Thursday, May 30 • 8–9 p.m.

The Naked Museum Party
Saturday, June 1 • 7 p.m.

First Friday Opening of The Marketplace of Community Values
Friday, June 7 • 5–7 p.m.

Family Day
Sunday, June 9 • 1–4 p.m.

Say Something: The Lincoln Dialogue Project
Saturday, June 15 • 1–3 p.m.

Location: Sheldon Museum of Art

Back